The makeup of Connecticut's next General Assembly was settled this week following the last in a series of recounts needed to settle close races.

Democrats will control the state Senate 23-13 and now have a 33-seat margin in the state House.

2019 Connecticut General AssemblyThe party broke an 18-18 tie in the Senate, flipping five Republican seats, including three in Fairfield County held by long-time incumbents.

Two Senate races were subject to automatic recounts following the Nov. 6 elections.

State Rep. Melissa Ziobron (R-East Haddam) lost her bid for the 33rd Senate District seat formerly held by Senator Art Linares (R-Westbrook), who did not run for reelection.

Essex business owner Norm Needleman, a Democrat who lost to Linares in 2016, won that seat by 85 votes.

First term incumbent George Logan (R-Ansonia) retained his 17th Senate District seat by 77 votes over Democratic challenger Jorge Cabrera.

The GOP lost 13 seats in the state House, including 11 held by incumbents, while picking up the 51st District seat held by Danny Rovero (D-Dayville), who did not run for reelection.

Recounts were triggered in four House seats, including the 30th District where House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin) defeated Republican Michael Gagliardi by 50 votes.

First term state Rep. Brian Ohler (R-Canaan) lost the 64th House District by 90 votes to Democrat Maria Horn.

Four-term incumbent Noreen Kokoruda (R-Madison) retained the 101st District by 18 votes over Democrat John-Michael Parker.

In the closest of the state legislative races, Phillip Young (D-Stratford) held the 120th District seat he won in a special election earlier this year by just 13 votes over Republican Jim Feehan.

The 2019 Connecticut General Assembly session begins Jan. 9 and runs through June 5.