Recently, CBIA mailed a brief survey to its members to determine their holiday plans for 2012. The following is a summary of the most popular days companies will designate as paid holidays. Additionally, many companies supplemented these designated holidays with 13 floaters.

One hundred and forty-two companies responded, of which 75 were manufacturers and 67 were nonmanufacturers.

Below is a breakdown of the respondents by number of employees:

Response%
1 - 24

3021%
25 - 74

6244%
75 - 149

2316%
150 - 249

139%
250 - 499

96%
500+

32%
Total140100%

1. New Year's Day Holiday (Monday, January 2)

Response%
Yes

12890%
No

1410%
Total142100%

2. Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday (Monday, Jan. 16)

Response%
Yes

1712%
No

12088%
Total137100%

3. Presidents' Day (Monday, Feb. 20)

Response%
Yes

3727%
No

10073%
Total137100%

4. Good Friday (Friday, April 6)

Response%
Yes

8460%
No

5540%
Total139100%

5. Memorial Day (Monday, May 28)

Response%
Yes

13799%
No

21%
Total139100%

6. Independence Day (Wednesday, July 4)

Response%
Yes

13899%
No

21%
Total140100%

7. Labor Day (Monday, Sept. 3)

Response%
Yes

13899%
No

21%
Total140100%

8. Columbus Day (Monday, Oct. 8)

Response%
Yes

2015%
No

11785%
Total137100%

9. Veterans Day (Observed Monday, Nov. 12)

Response%
Yes

118%
No

12392%
Total134100%

10. Thanksgiving (Thursday, Nov. 22)

Response%
Yes

138100%
No

00%
Total138100%

11. Day after Thanksgiving (Friday, Nov. 23)

#

Response%
1Yes

10273%
2No

3827%
Total140100%

12. Christmas Eve (Monday, Dec. 24)

Response%
Full day off

5641%
Half day off

2619%
Company closes early

3324%
Other*

2317%
Total138100%

*Most companies indicating "other" will work the full day.

13. Christmas Day (Tuesday, Dec. 25)

Response%
Yes

13799%
No

21%
Total139100%

14. Will your company close Dec. 26 - Dec. 28?

Response%
Yes

2820%
No

11480%
Total142100%

15. New Year's Eve (Monday, Dec. 31)

Response%
Full day

4433%
Half day

1612%
Company closes early

3829%
Other *

3427%
Total132100%

*Most will work the full day, but many have not yet determined what they will do.

16. New Year's Day (Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013)

Response%
Yes

13999%
No

21%
Total141100%