State’s Hourly Minimum Wage Rises to $12 Sept. 1
Connecticut’s hourly minimum wage increases to $12 on Sept. 1.
The $1 increase over the current $11 hourly wage was in legislation Gov. Ned Lamont signed last year to eventually bring the state’s minimum wage to $15.
The hike comes as many small businesses are struggling to survive during the coronavirus pandemic and as state guidelines continue to limit operations for many businesses that rely on minimum wage workers.
Connecticut’s minimum wage was $10.10 when Lamont signed the bill.
It increased rose from $10.10 to $11 on Oct. 1, 2019, with $1 annual increases Sept. 1 2020, Aug. 1, 2021, July 1, 2022, and June 1, 2023.
Any increases after Jan. 1, 2024 will be tied to the employment cost index, a quarterly metric created by the U.S. Department of Labor that details changes in labor costs across the country.
Connecticut’s law retains a $6.38 minimum wage for tipped workers, including restaurant waiters, and a $8.23 minimum for bartenders.
It also includes a 90-day, $10.10 hourly training wage for 16- and 17-year-old employees.
The federal minimum wage remains $7.25 an hour.
For more information, contact CBIA’s Eric Gjede (860.480.1784) | @egjede
EXPLORE BY CATEGORY
Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests
The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.