Every fall, CBIA surveys its members to find out what paid holidays they will offer employees in the coming year.

The results of the latest survey reflect responses from 375 Connecticut firms.

Employers were also asked if they would be giving employees time off for holidays not included in the survey.

No particular holiday dominated those responses; the most common choices were Columbus Day/Indigenous People’s Day (17%) and floating holidays (17%).

Survey Results

New Year’s Day Observation (Saturday, Jan. 1)

  • Friday, Dec. 31 half-day: 13%
  • Friday, Dec. 31 full-day: 54%
  • Monday, Jan. 3: 24%
  • Other: 9%

Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (Monday, Jan. 17): 18%

President’s Day (Monday, Feb. 21): 32%

Good Friday (Friday, Apr. 15) : 56%

Memorial Day (Monday, May 30): 97%

Juneteenth Observation (Sunday, June 19)

  • Friday, June 17: 1%
  • Monday, June 20: 5%
  • Not Observed: 87%
  • Other: 5%

Independence Day Observation (Monday, July 4)

  • Friday, July 1: 6%
  • Monday, July 4: 90%
  • Facility/office closed for the week of July 4: 2%
  • Other: 1%

Labor Day (Monday, Sep. 5): 97%

Thanksgiving (Thursday, Nov. 24): 99%

Day after Thanksgiving (Friday, Nov. 25 ): 80%

Christmas Observation (Sunday, Dec. 25)

  • Friday, Dec. 23 half-day: 8%
  • Monday Dec. 26 full-day: 73%
  • Not observed: 1%
  • Other: 18%

Week between Christmas and New Years Day (Monday, Dec. 26-Friday, Dec. 30)

  • Yes: 13%
  • Maybe: 11%
  • No: 76%

If off the week between Christmas and New Years Day, how will employees be paid?

  • Employees are required to use PTO: 31%
  • Company paid holidays: 46%
  • Other: 22%

Survey Demographics

Company type:

  • Manufacturing: 41%
  • Professional services: 16%
  • Other: 8%
  • Nonprofit: 8%
  • Construction: 7%
  • Wholesale distribution: 4%
  • Medical: 4%
  • Retail: 2%
  • Insurance: 2%
  • Finance: 2%
  • Software/technology: 2%
  • Real estate: 1%
  • Hospitality/tourism: 1%

Company size (by number of employees):

  • 1-24: 61%
  • 25-74: 24%
  • 75-149: 8%
  • 150-249: 5%
  • 250-499: 2%
  • 500-plus: 1%