Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York added 10 states to the regional COVID-19 travel advisory list July 21, with travelers from 31 states now required to self-quarantine for 14 days.

Travelers entering Connecticut after 12:01 am July 24 from one of the impacted states also must complete and submit a form on arrival.

COVID-19 Travel Map
Travelers from 31 states must self-quarantine after entering or returning to Connecticut, New Jersey, or New York.

Gov. Ned Lamont issued an executive order July 21 authorizing fines up to $1,000 for those who fail to submit the form or self-quarantine.

“Connecticut's numbers are all trending, blessedly, in the right direction, still," Lamont told reporters.

"This is one more way we can remind people we’re taking this seriously.”

Impacted States

Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Virginia, and Washington state were added to the list while Minnesota was removed.

The list also includes Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin.

Travelers who spend 24 hours or longer in one of the listed states within 14 days of arriving in Connecticut are subject to the travel advisory.

States with positive COVID-19 test rates greater than 10 per 100,000 or with a positivity rate of 10% or higher over a seven-day rolling average are added to the list, which is updated weekly.

Workers traveling from impacted states who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the federal Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency are exempted from the self-quarantine quarantine if their travel was work-related.

The Lamont administration issued guidance July 2 allowing travelers from impacted states to enter Connecticut if they have a negative viral test (not an antibody test) for COVID-19 in the 72 hours prior to travel.

Also exempted are state, local, and federal officials and employees traveling in official capacities on government business.