Special elections will be held Tuesday, Feb. 28 to fill three vacant Connecticut General Assembly seats.

Two state Senate seats--the 2nd District (Bloomfield, Hartford, Windsor) and the 32nd District (Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, Watertown, Woodbury, and parts of Middlebury and Seymour)--and the 115th House District (West Haven) were left vacant following a series of pre-session resignations.

Senators Eric Coleman (D-Bloomfield) and Rob Kane (R-Watertown) resigned their seats minutes before the Jan. 4 opening of the 2017 General Assembly.

Kane is expected to be named state auditor, while Coleman, formerly co-chair of the legislature’s Judiciary Committee, is under consideration for a judicial appointment.

State Rep. Stephen Dargan (D-West Haven), the former co-chair of the Public Safety Committee, resigned the previous day to accept an appointment to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

The state constitution bars legislators from serving in another branch of government.

State Rep. Eric Berthel (R-Watertown) indicated he will run for Kane's seat and Rep. Douglas McCrory (D-Hartford) announced his intention to seek Coleman's seat.

Additional special elections will be needed if either or both Berthel and McCrory are elected to fill those Senate vacancies.