CHRO Extends Workplace Harassment Prevention Training Deadline
Connecticut employers impacted by the coronavirus pandemic have an additional 90 days to comply with the state’s new sexual harassment prevention training mandates.
The state Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities announced the 90-day extension beyond the original Oct. 1, 2020 deadline on April 8.
Employers who were unable to complete the training requirement for employees hired after Oct. 1, 2019, can request an extension by emailing CHRO.
Employers must explain how COVID-19 restrictions impacted training. Examples can include lack of access to technology including computer/internet, employee illness, or other unforeseen circumstances.
State lawmakers passed sweeping changes last year to Connecticut’s sexual harassment prevention training laws.
Every company with three or more workers is now required to provide training to all employees.
For companies with three or more employees:
- Any employee (supervisors and non-supervisors) hired after Oct. 1, 2019, must receive harassment prevention training within six months of hiring date.
- All employees (supervisors and non-supervisors) hired before Oct. 1, 2019, must receive harassment prevention training by Oct. 1, 2020.
- Training provided since Oct. 1, 2018 shall be credited towards the above training obligations.
For companies with less than three employees:
- Current supervisors must receive harassment prevention training by Oct. 1, 2020.
- Supervisors hired after Oct. 1, 2019 must be trained within six months of hiring date.
Free Online Training
While prior law suggested but did not require refresher training sessions every three years, the new statutes mandate updated training sessions at least every 10 years.
Employers can satisfy training requirements by having employees take the agency’s online course, available free through the CHRO website.
Last year’s changes also require employers to separately tell new employees within three months of hire that sexual harassment is illegal and the remedies available to victims.
This can be done by giving employees a copy of, or link to, the CHRO designated harassment poster, or comparable information such as company policy delivered via email, text, in writing, or posted to the company website.
For more information, contact CBIA’s Mark Soycher (860.244.1900) | @HRHotline
EXPLORE BY CATEGORY
Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests
The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.