In addition to President Barack Obama’s decisive victory in Connecticut this week, state voters also elected all Democrats to Congress. Most notable was the race to fill the seat that has been held by U.S. Senator Joe Lieberman since January 1989.

U.S. Senate

U.S. Rep. Chris Murphy (D-5) overwhelmingly defeated Republican Linda McMahon.

U.S. House

In a contest to fill the 5th Congressional House seat vacated by Senator-elect Chris Murphy, Democrat Elizabeth Esty of Cheshire defeated State Sen. Andrew Roraback (R-Goshen).

In Connecticut’s other Congressional races, incumbents—Rep. John Larson (D-1), Joe Courtney (D-2), Rosa DeLauro (D-3), and Jim Himes (D-4)—all easily won reelection.