Our first prediction of the 2012 election season: Next year’s General Assembly will have many new faces.

That’s not exactly going out on a limb, because, right now, there are 3 Senate and 21 House seats in which the current legislator is not running for reelection.

Redistricting, retirements, career changes, and eyes on other elective offices are among the reasons.

Which means it’s certain that voters in at least 24 state districts will be sending someone different to Hartford next January.

And note that there are primary battles in many of these districts on Aug. 14 to decide final major-party candidates.

To be sure, every race for every seat in the legislature is important. But open seats are fairly rare in this “Land of Steady Habits.” Incumbents usually stay in office and keep their legislative seats for many years.

Here’s a list of the open seats, current candidates, and the legislators not running again.

State Senate

(*= Primary on Aug. 14)

District 19:Columbia, Franklin, Hebron, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Marlborough, Montville, Norwich, Sprague

Current legislator: Sen. Edith Prague (D), not seeking reelection

  • Chris Coutu (R)
  • Catherine Osten (D)*
  • Thomas Reynolds (D)*

District 30: Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Winchester

Current legislator: Sen. Andrew Roraback (R), running for Congress

  • Clark Chapin (R)
  • William Riiska (D)

District 33: Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland, Westbrook

Current legislator:  Sen. Eileen Daily (D), not seeking reelection

  • Jim Crawford (D)*
  • Mary Ellen Klinck (D)*
  • Art Linares (R)

State House of Representatives

(*= Primary on Aug. 14)

District 4: Hartford

Current legislator: Rep. Kelvin Roldan (D), not seeking reelection

  • Angel Arce (D)
  • Rico Dence (R)

District 5: Windsor, Hartford

Current legislator: Rep. Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey (D), not seeking reelection

  • Leo Canty (D)*
  • Brandon McGee Jr. (D)*
  • Donald Trinks (D)*
  • Paul Panos (R)

District 13: Manchester, Glastonbury

Current legislator: Rep. John Thompson (D), not seeking reelection

  • Joseph Diminico (D)*
  • Tom Gullotta (D)*
  • Mark Tweedy (R)

District 16: Simsbury

Current legislator: Rep. Linda Schofield (D), not seeking reelection

  • Charity Folk (R)
  • John Hampton (D)

District 34: East Hampton, East Haddam, Colchester

Current legislator: Rep. Gail Hamm (D), not seeking reelection

  • Christopher Goff (D)
  • Melissa Ziobron (R)

District 35: Clinton, Killingworth, Westbrook

Current legislator: Rep. James Crawford (D), running for State Senate

  • Tom Vicino (D)
  • John Samperi (R)

District 42: Ledyard, Montville, Preston

Current legislator: Rep. Thomas Reynolds (D), running for State Senate

  • Timothy Bowles (D)

District 46: Norwich

Current legislator: Rep. Melissa Olson-Riley (D), not seeking reelection

  • Mikel Middleton (R)
  • Emmett Riley (D)

District 47:Canterbury, Norwich, Scotland, Sprague, Chaplin, Lebanon, Lisbon, Franklin, Hampton

Current legislator: Rep. Christopher Coutu (R)

  • Noah Enslow (R)
  • Brian Sear (D)

District 63: Barkhamsted, Canaan, Colebrook, Hartland, Norfolk, North Canaan, Winchester

Current legislator: Rep. John Rigby (R), not seeking reelection

  • Jay Case (R)
  • Doug Benedetto (D)*
  • Michael Renzullo (D)*

District 67: New Milford

Current legislator: Rep. Clark Chapin (R), running for State Senate

  • Cecilia Buck-Taylor  (R)
    Andrew Grossman (D)

District 81: Southington

Current legislator: Bruce Zalaski (D), not seeking reelection

  • Cheryl Lounsbury (R)
  • David Zoni (D)

District 84: Meriden

Current legislator: Rep. Christopher Donovan (D), not seeking reelection

  • Hilda Santiago (D)

District 91: Hamden

Current legislator: Rep. Peter Villano (D), not seeking reelection

  • Joseph Bertini (R)
  • John Flanagan (D)*
  • Michael D'Agostino(D)*

District 106: Newtown

Current legislator: Rep. Christopher Lyddy (D), not seeking reelection

  • Mitch Bolinsky (R)
  • Lisa Romano (D)

District 109: Danbury

Current legislator: Rep. Joseph Taborsak (D), not seeking reelection

  • David Arconti Jr. (D)
    Andrew Wetmore (R)

District 119: Milford, Orange

Current legislator: Rep. Richard Roy (D), not seeking reelection

  • James Maroney (D)
  • Pam Staneski (R)

District 123: Trumbull

Current legislator: Rep. T.R. Rowe (R)

  • Tom Christiano (D)
  • Dave Rutigliano (R)

District 125: New Canaan, Wilton

Current legislator: Rep. John Hetherington (R), not seeking reelection

  • Thomas O’Dea (R)
  • Mark Robbins (D)

District 128: Bridgeport

Current legislator: Rep. Andres Ayala (D), running for State Senate

  • Manuel Bataguas (R)
  • Christine Ayala (D)

District 150: Greenwich

Current legislator: Rep. Lile Gibbons (R), not seeking reelection

  • Stephanie Paulmeno (D)
  • Stephen Walko (R)
Filed Under: Elections

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.