A new task force comprised of 11 Connecticut police forces and federal agencies will work together to combat complex cyber crimes.

The Connecticut Cyber Task Force is based at the FBI's New Haven office.

The task force is a direct response to the increase in crimes involving cyberspace and the dark web.

In addition to the FBI, the task force includes representatives from the Drug Enforcement Administration, U.S. Secret Service, U.S. Postal Inspection Service, Homeland Security Investigations, Internal Revenue Service—Criminal Investigation, Defense Criminal Investigative Service, and Connecticut State Police.

The 11 town police departments participating are Bridgeport, Bristol, Fairfield, Greenwich, Hartford, New Canaan, New London, Norwalk, Stamford, Torrington, and Westport.

The primary goal of the task force is to combine available federal, state, and local law enforcement resources in Connecticut to address challenging and emerging cyber threats including use of Dark Markets, crypto currencies such as Bitcoin, and encrypted routing services.

Initially, the task force will prioritize cybercrime investigations in two areas.

First, the task force will work to identify and disrupt criminal organizations that use computer intrusions to defraud companies of their money and information.

Second, they will target criminal activity on the dark web, notably the illicit acquisition and distribution of fentanyl and other dangerous drugs that are the cause of tens of thousands of overdose deaths annually.

Information in this article originally appeared in the New Haven Register