The membership of CBIA, the state's largest business organization, has elected nine new members to its board of directors.

The diverse group represents a cross section of Connecticut's business community, including a range of industry sectors, sizes, and geographic locations.

New CBIA board members 2021, BOD

The election results were announced Nov. 17 at CBIA's annual meeting in Hartford. The new directors begin serving their four-year terms Dec. 1.

“These additions to the CBIA board will bring more innovation and ideas to better rebuild Connecticut," CBIA president and CEO Chris DiPentima said today.

"These business leaders have a wealth of experience that will help drive CBIA’s core mission of making Connecticut a premier location for jobs, economic growth, and opportunities for all.” 

The new directors are:

  • James Barger, Market President and Commercial Banking Leader, KeyBank
  • Leander Dolphin, Co-Managing Partner, Shipman & Goodwin
  • David Fiereck, President, Loureiro Engineering 
  • Abul Islam, Founder and President/CEO, AI Engineers 
  • Joe Maisto, CFO, Whitcraft
  • Jill Mayer, CEO, Bead Industries 
  • Frank Reynolds, President and CEO, UIL Holdings 
  • Ben Towne, Partner, PwC
  • Ian Walsh, Chairman, President, and CEO, KAMAN Corp.

The board will elect a new chair Dec. 9 to succeed Jeff Hubbard, senior vice president and regional manager with Liberty Bank in New Haven. 

Hubbard will remain on the board as the immediate past chair.

CBIA is Connecticut's largest business organization, with thousands of member companies, small and large, representing a diverse range of industries from every part of the state. For more information, please email or call Ali Warshavsky (860.244.1929).