Your Guide to Connecticut’s August 11 Primary Elections

Election 2022

Registered Democrats and Republicans vote in Connecticut primary elections August 11 to determine party candidates for numerous state House and Senate races, three U.S. congressional seats, and the U.S. presidential race. 

Polling places across the state will be open from 6 am to 8 pm, while voters can also choose to vote by mail.

Gov. Ned Lamont’s May 20 executive order allows any active voter registered as a Democrat or Republican to vote by absentee ballot in the August 11 primaries because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Absentee ballot applications were sent to all active Connecticut voters registered as Democrats or Republicans in June.

Absentee ballots will be sent to applicants within 21 days before the primary elections. Ballots must be completed and received by local town clerks by the time polls close on August 11. 

Unaffiliated voters and voters registered with other parties are not eligible to vote in the primary, and inactive voters are not eligible to vote until they restore their active status.

There is a three month waiting period to switch party affiliation. Unaffiliated voters are not eligible to vote in party primaries, but can enroll with either party at any time to vote in the primaries.

State Senate Primaries

Senate DistrictDemocratic CandidatesRepublican Candidates
17th (Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Hamden, Naugatuck, Woodbridge)Jorge Cabrera*
Justin Farmer
22nd (Bridgeport, Monroe, Trumbull)Marcus Brown*
Marilyn Moore+
26th (Bethel, New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, Wilton)Will Duff
Kim Healy*

*Party endorsed candidate; +Incumbent

Democratic candidates in two state Senate districts face primaries to determine who will represent the party in the general election.

Labor organizer Jorge Cabrera and Hamden town councilor Justin Farmer are vying for the Democratic nomination to challenge Republican incumbent George Logan in the 17th Senate District.

Bridgeport city council member Marcus Brown, who earned the Democratic Party’s endorsement for the 22nd Senate District, is challenging incumbent Marilyn Moore

There is one Republican state Senate primary election.

Former state representative Will Duff, who lost his 2018 reelection bid, and accountant Kim Healy are challenging for the GOP nomination in the 26th Senate District. 

The winner faces first-term incumbent Will Haskell (D-Westport) in the general election.

State House Primaries

House DistrictDemocratic CandidatesRepublican Candidates
5th (Hartford, Windsor)Brandon McGee*+
Craig Stallings
15th (Bloomfield, Windsor)Bobby Gibson*+
Danielle Wong
20th (West Hartford)Kate Farrar
Sherry Haller*
24th (New Britain, Newington)Richard Lacourciere
Manny Sanchez*
28th (Wethersfield)Amy Morrin Bello
Paul Montinieri*
30th (Berlin, Southington)Jim Townsley
Donna Veach*
45th (Griswold, Lisbon, Plainfield, Sterling, Voluntown)Mark DePonte*
Pam Patalano
82nd (Meriden, Middlefield)Ernestine Holloway
Michael Skelps*
126th (Bridgeport)Tony Barr
Charlie Stallworth*+
128th (Bridgeport)Ethan Book
Joseph Borges*
130th (Bridgeport)Kelvin Ayala
Antonio Felipe*+

*Party endorsed candidate; +Incumbent

State House retirements left a number of open seats and forced a series of primaries this August.

Three-term state representative Brandon McGee (D-Hartford) again faces a primary challenge in the 5th House District, this time from Hartford Board of Education chair Craig Stallings.

Danielle Wong, a first-term member of the Bloomfield Town Council, is challenging incumbent state representative Bobby Gibson (D-Bloomfield) for his 15th House District seat.

Former Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund executive director Kate Farrar and Justice Education Center executive director Sherry Haller are contesting the Democratic primary for the 20th House District seat held by Joe Verrengia (D-West Hartford), who is not running again.

Wethersfield assistant town clerk Amy Morrin Bello and former mayor Paul Montinieri are the Democratic primary candidates for the 28th House District held by Russ Morin (D-Wethersfield), who is not seeking another term.

State Rep. Rick Lopes (D-New Britain) is challenging GOP incumbent Gennaro Bizzarro in the 6th Senate District this fall, sparking a Democratic primary between New Britain alderman Manny Sanchez and educator Richard Lacourciere for Lopes’ 24th House District seat.

Berlin town councilor Donna Veach and Southington pastor Jim Townsley face off in the Republican primary for the 30th House District, currently held by House Speaker Joe Aresimowicz (D-Berlin).

Aresimowicz, who is not running for reelection after eight terms in the House, won the seat by just 50 votes two years ago.

Lisbon physician Mark DePonte and Griswold Democratic Registrar of Voters Pam Patalano are the candidates in the 45th House District Democratic primary.

The winner will meet Republican incumbent Brian Lanoue in the fall general election.

Meriden pastor Ernestine Holloway and Board of Finance member Michael Skelps are contesting the Republican primary in the 82nd House Dsitrict.

Holloway lost to long-term incumbent Emil “Buddy” Altobello (D-Meriden) in 2018. Altobello, who has held the seat since 1995, is not running for reelection.

In Bridgeport, Democratic incumbent Charlie Stallworth faces a primary challenge for his 126th House District seat from community activist Tony Barr.

Bridgeport business owner Ethan Book and former city registrar of voters Joseph Borges meet in the Republican 128th House District primary.

The winner will run against incumbent Christopher Rosario (D-Bridgeport) in November.

First-term incumbent Antonio Felipe (D-Bridgeport) faces a Democratic primary challenge from business leader Kelvin Ayala in the 130th House District.

Congressional Primaries

Congressional SeatDemocratic CandidatesRepublican Candidates
1st U.S. HouseMary Fay*
James Griffin
2nd U.S. House DistrictJustin Anderson
Tom Gilmer*

*Party endorsed candidate; +Incumbent

Former Connecticut Retirement Security Authority executive director Mary Fay faces Bristol resident James Griffin in the 1st U.S. House District Republican primary.

Democrat incumbent John Larson—first elected to the seat in 1998—will face the winner in the general election. The district covers portions of the greater Hartford area. 

In the 2nd U.S. House District—covering eastern Connecticut—former corrections officer Justin Anderson faces business owner Tom Gilmer in the Republican primary to challenge six-term Democratic incumbent Joe Courtney.

Presidential Primaries

President Donald Trump, the presumptive Republican nominee, faces a primary challenge from San Diego real estate developer Rocky De La Fuente.

Trump seeks a second term this November, facing former vice president Joe Biden, the presumptive Democratic nominee. 

Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders and U.S Representative Tulsi Gabbard suspended their presidential campaigns earlier this year, but remain on Connecticut’s Democratic primary ballot. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests

The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.