The historic tie in the state Senate was preserved and Democrats retained their narrow margin in the state House following three special elections Feb. 28.

State Rep. Douglas McCrory (D-Hartford) will move to the Senate after winning the 2nd Senate District seat vacated by fellow Democrat Eric Coleman in January.

Connecticut General AssemblyMcCrory, Republican Michael McDonald, and write-in candidates Aaron Romano and Charles Jackson contested the seat, which includes parts of Hartford, Bloomfield, and Windsor.

Coleman resigned the seat—after winning a 12th term last November—in anticipation of a judicial appointment.

State Rep. Eric Berthel (R-Watertown) also moves to the Senate after winning the 32nd District seat formerly held by Republican Rob Kane.

Berthel defeated petitioning candidate Daniel Lynch and Roxbury Democrat Greg Cava, who unsuccessfully challenged Kane last November.

Kane was named state auditor after resigning the seat, which covers a number of towns surrounding Waterbury.

In West Haven, Democrats held the 115th House District left vacant when veteran lawmaker Stephen Dargan resigned to accept an appointment to the state Board of Pardons and Parole.

Former board of education member Dorinda Borer defeated Republican Edward Granfield for the seat Dargan held for 26 years.

Two more special elections will be needed to fill Berthel and McCrory's House seats.

The GOP and Democratic Party now hold 18 seats each in the Connecticut state Senate, while Democrats have a 78-71 margin in the state House, with two vacancies.