Sept. 9 Deadline for Filing Harassment Prevention Training Extension
Connecticut employers have until Sept. 9 to ask the state Commission on Human Rights and Opportunity for a 90-day extension of its Oct. 1 deadline to comply with new sexual harassment prevention training mandates.
The reason for the deadline extension must be specifically related to the coronavirus pandemic, according to the CHRO.
Requests can be emailed to the CHRO.
Those submitted after Sept. 9 will not be granted, the agency said.
The CHRO announced in April that it would offer a 90-day extension beyond the Oct. 1, 2020 deadline for most Connecticut businesses to complete the sexual harassment prevention training.
Employers requesting the extension must explain how COVID-19 restrictions impacted training. Examples can include a lack of access to technology, employee illness, or other unforeseen circumstances.
Under expanded sexual harassment prevention training laws that state legislators passed last year, every Connecticut company with three or more workers is required to provide training to all employees.
Employers can meet training requirements by having workers take the CHRO’s online course, available for free on its website.
For more information, contact CBIA’s Mark Soycher (860.244.1900) | @HRHotline
EXPLORE BY CATEGORY
Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests
The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.