Committee to Vote on Paid Sick Leave Mandate Monday
The legislature's Judiciary Committee is expected to vote on Monday, April 27, at their 2 p.m. meeting, on a proposal that will require Connecticut employers to provide paid sick leave to their employees.
HB-6187 mandates Connecticut employers of 50 or more hourly and non-exempt workers– regardless of the industry, financial resources, business demands and in many cases, even their current time-off policies — to provide a minimum of 1 hour paid time off for every 40 hours an employee works. This mandate likely will be expanded to include smaller businesses.
If this bill becomes law it will:
- Make Connecticut the first state in the nation to mandate paid sick leave
- Increase your labor costs significantly if you provide any less than the state mandate for sick time specifically
- Prevent you from crafting personnel policies that best meet your employees' needs
- Make your business less competitive with those in other states and regions that don’t have such mandates
- Read more about why this proposal is harmful to Connecticut's businesses and economy.
Since no other state mandates paid sick time, this is the year that some legislators feel they can get it approved. That’s why it's very important that employers speak up and oppose this costly and burdensome proposal now.
EXPLORE BY CATEGORY
Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests
The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.