Every fall, CBIA surveys its members to find out what paid holidays they will be offering their employees in the upcoming year. The results of the latest survey reflect responses from over 500 Connecticut firms.

Companies were also asked if they would be giving employees time off for holidays not included in the survey. Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, and Christmas Eve were mentioned most often, with up to 3% of respondents saying that they will offer some time off for at least one of those holidays, including closing early.

Survey Results

  • New Year’s Day Observance (Mon. Jan. 2)—91% of respondents offering this holiday
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (Mon. Jan. 16)—14%
  • Presidents’ Day (Mon., Feb. 20)—28%
  • Good Friday (Fri., Apr. 14)—53%
  • Memorial Day (Mon., May 29)—99%
  • Independence Day (Tues., July 4)—72%
  • Independence Day (Mon. July 3 and Tues. July 4)—25%
  • Labor Day (Mon., Sept. 4)—99%
  • Thanksgiving Day (Thurs., Nov. 23)—99%
  • Day after Thanksgiving (Fri., Nov. 24)—76%
  • Christmas Day (Mon. Dec. 25)—99%
  • New Year’s Day (Mon., Jan. 1, 2018)—99%

    For more information, email or call CBIA's Phillip Montgomery (860.244.1982).