Connecticut Minimum Wage Increases July 1
Connecticut’s hourly minimum wage increases to $14 on July 1, 2022.
The $1 increase over the current $13 is the fourth stage in a series of five planned increases Gov. Ned Lamont signed into law in 2019.
The legislation increased the hourly wage by $1 every 11 months.
Eventually, the state’s minimum wage will increase to $15 per hour, a near 50% increase in four years.
Employers are legally obligated to pay employees the updated wage on and after July 1, which falls on a Friday.
This means employers can choose to pay employees $13 for every hour leading up to July 1, but must adjust the payroll for Friday of that week.
Connecticut law retains a $6.38 minimum wage for tipped workers, which includes restaurant waiters, and the $8.23 minimum for bartenders. However, the employee must make at least $14 per hour including tips.
It also includes a 90-day, $10.10 hourly training wage for 16- and 17-year-old workers.
Beginning in 2024, Connecticut law requires the state’s minimum wage to be indexed to the employment cost index as calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor.
Any increase after Jan. 1, 2024 will be tied to the quarterly metric created by the U.S. DOL’s employment cost index.
After July 1, Connecticut’s minimum wage will be the fourth highest in the country after California ($15), Washington ($14.49), and Massachusetts ($14.25).
Twenty states are tied for the lowest hourly wage, $7.25, which is the federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt employees.
EXPLORE BY CATEGORY
Stay Connected with CBIA News Digests
The latest news and information delivered directly to your inbox.