Anyone traveling into Connecticut, New York, or New Jersey from a state that has a new daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average are directed to self-quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.
Travelers who spend 24 hours or longer in one of the listed states within 14 days of arriving in Connecticut are subject to the travel advisory.
Travelers entering Connecticut from one of the impacted states also must complete and submit a Travel Health Form on arrival. Those who fail to submit the form or self-quarantine could be fined up to $1,000.
As of Oct. 20, 2020, the list of impacted states includes Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin., and Wyoming. Puerto Rico and Guam are also impacted by the advisory.
Q: How is this going to be enforced?
A: Failure to self-quarantine or complete the Travel Health Form may result in a civil penalty of $500 for each violation.
Q: How are the affected states chosen?
A: The advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher test positivity rate for COVID-19 tests over a seven-day rolling average. The list of states is fluid and will be updated weekly.
Q: How are the affected countries chosen?
A: This advisory applies to any person arriving from a country for which the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Notice.
The list of countries for which the CDC has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Notice is fluid and travelers should check such list on their date of travel.
Q: Who does the advisory apply to?
A: The requirement to self-quarantine and complete the Travel Health Form is applicable to any traveler who has spent 24 hours or longer in an affected state or affected country within 14 days prior to arriving in Connecticut but does not include an individual remaining in Connecticut for less than 24 hours.
These requirements are also applicable to Connecticut residents who are returning from a visit to an affected state or an affected country.
Q: What does self-quarantine mean?
A: Self-quarantine means to stay home or in your designated self-quarantine location, separate yourself from others, and monitoring your health.
You should not enter any public places, including, but not limited to, restaurants, pools, meeting rooms, or gatherings, during the mandatory period of self-quarantine.
You can go for a walk if not around other people.
A self-quarantine is used to keep someone who might have been exposed to COVID-19 away from others.
The self-quarantine helps prevent spread of disease that can occur before a person knows they are sick or if they are infected with the virus without feeling symptoms.
Q: If I am traveling from an affected state or affected country to Connecticut to seek or obtain medical treatment, am I required to self-quarantine when I arrive in Connecticut?
A: Yes, you are required to self-quarantine when you arrive in Connecticut from an affected state or country if you were in such affected state or country for 24 hours or longer within 14 days prior to arriving in Connecticut.
While you are required to self-quarantine, you may leave your designated self-quarantine location to go to your medical procedure or other medical appointment.
When you do leave your designated self-quarantine location and when in public after your mandatory self-quarantine period, you are required to wear a face covering when in public and when a six-foot distance from others is unavoidable, unless you have a medical condition that prevents you from wearing one and you have written documentation that you are qualified for the exemption from a licensed medical provider, the Department of Developmental Services, or other state agency that provides or supports services for people with emotional, intellectual or physical disabilities, or a person authorized by any such agency..
Q: What if I am returning to Connecticut after visiting a state or country that was not on the list of affected states and countries when I arrived, but was added to the list during my stay?
The Department of Public Health will not pursue or levy civil penalties against an affected traveler who arrives in Connecticut following a stay in a state or country that was not on the list of affected states or affected countries when the traveler arrived there but was added to the list during the affected traveler’s stay, provided the affected traveler returns to Connecticut not more than seven days following the date such state or country was added to the list.
Although the DPH will not pursue civil penalties against such travelers, all such travelers are still strongly encouraged to make every effort to self-quarantine.
In addition, such affected travelers are still required to complete a Travel Health Form upon arrival in Connecticut and may be subject to civil penalties by the DPH for failure to do so.
Q: Are there any exemptions for essential travel?
A: Yes. Workers traveling from affected states or countries to Connecticut who work in critical infrastructure as designated by the U.S. Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, including students in exempt health care professions, and any state, local, and federal officials and employees, are exempt from the self-quarantine requirement when such travel is work-related. Such essential workers are still required to complete the Travel Health Form.
Q: If I am an essential worker who visited an affected state or country on vacation, am I required to self-quarantine upon my return to Connecticut?
A: Yes, essential workers who travel to Connecticut from an affected state or an affected country or from Connecticut to an affected state or an affected country for vacation or other non-work related reasons are required to self-quarantine and complete the Travel Health Form.
Q: How long is the self-quarantine?
A: The advisory requires visitors to Connecticut from affected states to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days from the time they were last in the affected state.
If you board a plane in an affected state or country today, and land in Connecticut today, your 14 days begins today.
If you are in the state of Connecticut for a period less than 14 days, you should plan to be in self-quarantine throughout your visit.
If you left an affected state or country and spent time in non-affected states prior to arriving in Connecticut, you start counting your 14-day period from the time you left the affected state and if only five of those 14 days are spent in Connecticut, you will need to quarantine in Connecticut for those five days.
Q: If I am coming to Connecticut to a hotel or bed and breakfast, can I do the quarantine there?
A: Yes. Travelers are required to self-quarantine at their home, or a hotel or other temporary lodging. Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey are all asking hotels to communicate the 14-day self-quarantine requirements to guests who have traveled from one of the affected states.
Q: Does the quarantine recommendation also extend to passengers flying to Connecticut on connecting flights that stop in high infection states before arriving in Connecticut?
A: No. The requirement to self-quarantine does not apply to travelers who have a layover in an affected state, provided the layover is for less than 24 hours.
If you spend 24 hours or longer in the affected state, you must quarantine when you arrive in Connecticut.
Q: If an affected traveler who is required to self-quarantine stays at my house, am I and my family, who have not been traveling, also required to self-quarantine?
A: No, you and your family are not required to self-quarantine. However, all usual COVID-19 precautions should be undertaken.
Q: Can travelers be tested for COVID-19 instead of self-quarantine?
A: Yes, an affected traveler is exempt from the self-quarantine requirement if the affected traveler (1) has had a test for COVID-19 in the 72 hours prior to arrival in Connecticut or at any time following arrival in Connecticut, (2) the result of such COVID-19 test is negative, and (3) they have provided written proof of such negative test result to the Commissioner via email to: DPH.COVID-Travel@ct.gov or via facsimile to: 860.326.0529.
If a test was obtained in the 72 hours prior to arrival in Connecticut, or following arrival in Connecticut, and such affected traveler has not yet received their test results, such traveler shall remain in self-quarantine in Connecticut until a negative test result is submitted to the commissioner.
If the test result is positive and the traveler is asymptomatic, they shall self-isolate for 10 days from the date of the test; if symptomatic, they should seek medical assistance.
Travelers who test positive for COVID-19 prior to traveling to Connecticut should delay such travel and consult with a medical professional. All affected travelers are required to complete the Travel Health Form.
Q: What tests are acceptable for the testing option?
A: Nucleic acid tests such as reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) tests are the only acceptable testing option. Neither rapid antigen tests nor antibody tests for COVID-19 satisfy the testing requirement for the testing exemption.
Q: If I have already tested positive for COVID-19 and have recovered, do I need to self-quarantine upon my arrival to Connecticut?
A: A person who has tested positive for COVID-19 within 90 days prior to their arrival in Connecticut and who has clinically recovered, or who has not been symptomatic for a period of 10 days since symptom onset or such positive test if not symptomatic, is not required to self-quarantine upon their arrival to Connecticut, provided such person submits, prior to or immediately upon arrival in Connecticut, written proof of such positive test result to the Commissioner of Public Health via email to: DPH.COVID-Travel@ct.gov or via facsimile to: 860.326.0529. Such person is still required to complete a Travel Health Form.
A person who has had a positive test result for COVID-19 more than 90 days prior to arriving in Connecticut is required to self-quarantine and complete a Travel Health Form.
Q: I am a foreign student arriving for college/university. Do I need to self-quarantine?
If you were in an affected country within 14 days prior to arriving in Connecticut, then you are required to self-quarantine upon your arrival to Connecticut. Affected Countries are countries for which the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Notice. You should also refer to your college or university’s requirements for returning to campus.
Q: If I am self-quarantining after arriving in Connecticut from an affected state or country, and subsequent to my arrival, such state or country comes off the list, may I end my self-quarantine?
A: No. Anyone who arrived from an affected state or an affected country during the time that infections there were higher needs to complete a self-quarantine period as required by the travel advisory.
Q: May I complete the Travel Health Form after I have arrived in Connecticut?
A: You are required to complete the Travel Health Form prior to or no later than upon the day of your arrival in Connecticut.
Q: Should non-essential travel to affected states and countries be avoided?
A: Yes. Because of the risk of contracting infection, and because of the need to self-quarantine on return, Connecticut residents are urged to avoid travel to the affected states and countries whenever possible.
Q: If I know someone has traveled to Connecticut from an affected state and is in violation of the quarantine rule, is there a channel for reporting this?
A: Anyone wanting to report any violations of the quarantine order can either call 211 or email email@example.com.
Q: If I get fined, is there any way I can dispute or appeal the fine?
A: Any person who receives a notice of civil penalty may, within five business days of the date of the notice of civil penalty, request a hearing before the Department of Public Health to contest the penalty.
Q: May I be subject to legal ramifications other than civil penalties if I do not self-quarantine or complete the Travel Health Form?
A: Yes, you may be subject to any existing penalties that apply to violations of executive orders, including monetary penalties and possible imprisonment.