The Connecticut Workers Compensation Act guarantees medical care, protection against income loss, and survivor benefits for employees who suffer work-related injury, illness or death.
The act grants benefits to an injured employee without regard to fault or negligence on the part of the employer or employee. It also establishes a system for resolution of disputes over benefits without filing lawsuits.
In most cases, an employee who is eligible for workers’ compensation benefits may not sue the employer or co-workers to gain more than what the act provides; workers’ compensation benefits are the employee’s exclusive remedy for on-the-job injury or occupational disease.
The act covers all employment relationships entered into in Connecticut, whether or not the employee is injured in the state.
Most employers purchase insurance to cover their workers’ compensation liability.
However, employers may self-insure in whole or in part provided that they file a bond or other form of security with the Workers Compensation Commission and comply with all of the other requirements set forth in the commission’s certificate of self-insurance regulations.
For insured employers, the insurer will process and defend most claims through its representatives.
However, it is important that the insured employer understand the basic principles of workers’ compensation, so that it can work effectively with insurance company representatives.
For example, an employer should be aware of the 28-day time limit for contesting claims, and should provide information quickly to the insurance company so that it may act within that time limit if necessary.
Also, all employers should be familiar with the obligation to provide “light duty,” if available, for a partially disabled employee.
In addition, employers should be aware of the non-discrimination or anti-retaliation provisions of the act.
Workers Comp Information Packet
The Workers Compensation Commission’s Information Packet was recently revised and offers comprehensive plain English information about the state’s workers’ comp system, its benefits and procedures, and also includes a number of sample forms.
Benefit Rate Tables
Effective Oct. 1, 2015, the maximum weekly workers’ compensation benefit for total disability and decedents’ dependents is $1,256. By law, this rate is equivalent to the estimated average weekly earnings of all employees in the state.
The maximum workers’ compensation benefit payout for partial disability (incapacity) is $998, effective Oct. 1, 2015. This rate is equivalent to the estimated average weekly earnings of production and related workers in manufacturing in the state, as determined by the state labor commissioner.
Latest tables for determining workers compensation benefits for Connecticut workers are available online. Print copies can be ordered and purchased from:
1718 Park Street
Hartford, CT 06106
860.233.2138 | 860.236.6742
Workers Comp Mileage Rate
As of January 1, 2015, the mileage reimbursement rate is now 57.5 cents per mile for all workers’ compensation claimants who use their private motor vehicles to travel to medical appointments necessitated by their work-related injuries.
The rate for all travel expenses occurred on or after Jan. 1, 2015, and applies to all claimants, regardless of injury date.
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Commission Forms
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Commission Reports & Publications
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Benefit Tables (October 1, 2015-September 30, 2016)
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Information Packet
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Commission Employer's First Report of Occupational Injury or Illness form
- OSHA Injury & Illness Recordkeeping Forms
- When Must You File a 'First Report' of Workplace Injury?
- Connecticut Workers Compensation Commission Memorandums
- Can You Ever Discharge an Employee Who Has Suffered a Workers’ Comp Injury?
- Medical Care Plans Require Communication
- What You Need to Know About Experience Rating
- FAQ: Health, Safety, & Workers Compensation