Voters in Monroe, Newtown, and Stamford head to the polls this month for special elections to fill two vacant state House seats.

The Feb. 17 resignation of J.P. Sredzinski (R-Monroe) forced an April 13 election to fill his 112th House District seat, which covers parts of Monroe and Newtown.

Neighbors and Monroe town councillors Tony Scott and Nicholas Kapoor are challenging for the seat.

Scott is the Republican candidate. He is a one time chair of the town's Parks and Recreation Commission and a former member of the town's Economic Development Commission.

Democrat Kapoor also sits on the Monroe Board of Education Monroe Board of Education and was appointed to the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities in 2017.

Two candidates are running to fill the 145th House District seat formerly held by long-term incumbent Patricia Billie Miller, a Democrat who was elected to the state Senate in a March 2 special election.

Stamford voters will choose between Democrat Corey Paris and Republican JD Ospina in the April 27 election.

Paris is the director of development for a Fairfield County nonprofit and Ospina serves on the city's Social Services Commission.